Council

Monday, 19 January 2015

Attendees:

Councillor Christopher Arnold (Member), Councillor Kevin Bentley (Member), Councillor Nigel Chapman (Member), Councillor Peter Chillingworth (Member), Councillor John Elliott (Mayor and Chairman), Councillor Margaret Fairley-Crowe (Member), Councillor Marcus Harrington (Member), Councillor Pauline Hazell (Member), Councillor Brian Jarvis (Member), Councillor John Jowers (Member), Councillor Sue Lissimore (Member), Councillor Jackie Maclean (Member), Councillor Richard Martin (Member), Councillor Peter Sheane (Member), Councillor Dennis Willetts (Member), Councillor Dave Harris (Member), Councillor Michael Lilley (Member), Councillor Julie Young (Member), Councillor Tim Young (Member), Councillor Helen Chuah (Member), Councillor Barrie Cook (Member), Councillor Nick Cope (Member), Councillor Mark Cory (Member), Councillor Annie Feltham (Member), Councillor Bill Frame (Member), Councillor Jo Hayes (Member), Councillor Professor Peter Higgins (Member), Councillor Mike Hogg (Member), Councillor Martin Hunt (Member), Councillor Paul Smith (Member), Councillor Laura Sykes (Member), Councillor Beverley Oxford (Member), Councillor Gerard Oxford (Member), Councillor Philip Oxford (Member), Councillor Roger Buston (Member), Councillor Robert Davidson (Member), Councillor Chris Pearson (Member), Councillor Dominic Graham (Member), Councillor Justin Knight (Member), Councillor Theresa Higgins (Deputy Mayor)

Also in attendance:

Honorary Aldermen Bober, Cannon, Cooke, Fairhead, Fulford, Gower, Green, Hall, Spyvee, Stevens and Webb.

48 Prayers

The meeting was opened with prayers by Alderman Spyvee.

49 Apologies

Apologies were received from:-

Former Councillor Blandon

Councillors Barlow, Barton, Blundell, Bourne, Cable, Davies, Ellis, Gamble, Goss, Havis, Kimberley, Liddy, Manning, Naish, Offen, Quince, Scott, Scott-Boutell, J, Scott-Boutell, L and Turrell

Honorary Alderman Browning, Bouckley, Brooks, Frank, Garnett, Holt, Russell, Sandford, Spendlove, Trusler and Wheeler.

50 Honorary Aldermen

It was PROPOSED by Councillor Hunt and RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY that in pursuance of the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, this Council confer the title of "Honorary Alderman" on former Councillors Sonia Jean Lewis, Colin Leslie Sykes, Mary Blandon and Terence Richard Sutton in recognition of their loyal and eminent service as members of the Council and its constituent authority.

Honorary Aldermen Lewis, Sykes and Sutton offered their thanks to Council following their appointment.