# Council

# Wednesday, 27 May 2015

Attendees: Councillor Christopher Arnold (Member), Councillor Kevin Bentley (Member), Councillor Elizabeth Blundell (Member), Councillor Nigel Chapman (Member), Councillor Peter Chillingworth (Member), Councillor Beverly Davies (Member), Councillor John Elliott (Member), Councillor Andrew Ellis (Member), Councillor Margaret Fairley-Crowe (Member), Councillor Marcus Harrington (Member), Councillor Pauline Hazell (Member), Councillor Brian Jarvis (Member), Councillor John Jowers (Member), Councillor Sue Lissimore (Member), Councillor Jackie Maclean (Member), Councillor Richard Martin (Member), Councillor Peter Sheane (Member), Councillor Dennis Willetts (Member), Councillor Tina Bourne (Member), Councillor Dave Harris (Member), Councillor Cyril Liddy (Member), Councillor Michael Lilley (Member), Councillor Julie Young (Deputy Mayor), Councillor Tim Young (Member), Councillor Lyn Barton (Member), Councillor Helen Chuah (Member), Councillor Barrie Cook (Member), Councillor Nick Cope (Member), Councillor Mark Cory (Member), Councillor Annie Feltham (Member), Councillor Bill Frame (Member), Councillor Ray Gamble (Member), Councillor Martin Goss (Member), Councillor Julia Havis (Member), Councillor Jo Hayes (Member), Councillor Professor Peter Higgins (Member), Councillor Mike Hogg (Member), Councillor Jon Manning (Member), Councillor Paul Smith (Member), Councillor Laura Sykes (Member), Councillor Beverley Oxford (Member), Councillor Gerard Oxford (Member), Councillor Philip Oxford (Member), Councillor Roger Buston (Member), Councillor Robert Davidson (Member), Councillor Rosalind Scott (Member), Councillor Dominic Graham (Member), Councillor Justin Knight (Member), Councillor Jessica Scott-Boutell (Member), Councillor Theresa Higgins (Mayor and Chairman), Councillor Annesley Hardy (Member), Councillor Darius Laws (Member), Councillor Ben Locker (Member), Councillor Fiona Maclean (Member), Councillor Patricia Moore (Member) **Apologies:** Councillor Mark Cable (Member), Councillor Will Quince (Member), Councillor Kim Naish (Member), Councillor Nigel Offen (Member),

# 62 Prayers

The Retiring Mayor, Councillor John Elliott, chaired the meeting for the items at minutes 62-64.

The Reverend Liz Barnes opened the meeting with Prayers.

Councillor Chris Pearson (Member)

#### 63 Apologies

Apologies were received from Councillors Cable, Cook (Mayor Making ceremony only), Davidson (Mayor Making ceremony only), F. Maclean (Mayor Making ceremony only), Naish, Offen, Pearson and Quince.

#### 64 Election of the Mayor

It was PROPOSED by Councillor Barton, SECONDED by Councillor Willetts and supported by Councillors Bourne and G. Oxford and:-

*RESOLVED* that Councillor Theresa Margaret Anne Higgins be appointed as Mayor for the ensuing municipal year.

Councillor T. Higgins took the customary oath and subscribed the declaration of acceptance of office.

The Mayor then took the Chair and returned thanks for her election.

# 65 Minutes (Council)

*RESOLVED* that the minutes of the Council meeting on 18 February 2015 be confirmed as a correct record.

# 66 Election of the Deputy Mayor

It was PROPOSED by Councillor Liddy and SECONDED and SUPPORTED by Councillors Smith, Willetts and G. Oxford and:-

*RESOLVED* that Councillor Julie Ann Young be appointed Deputy Mayor of the Borough of Colchester for the ensuing municipal year.

Councillor J. Young then made and subscribed the declaration of acceptance of office and returned thanks for her election as Deputy Mayor.

# 67 Vote of Thanks to the Retiring Mayor

It was PROPOSED by Councillor Bentley, SECONDED and SUPPORTED by Councillors Smith, T. Young and G. Oxford and:

*RESOLVED* that the best thanks of the Council are due and hereby accorded to Councillor John Elliott for the admirable manner in which he has discharged the responsible duties of the Mayoralty during the past year and that a transcript of this resolution under the Common Seal be furnished to him.

#### 68 Mayor's Chaplain and Other Announcements

The Mayor announced that she had appointed Father Tony McKentey to be her Chaplain for the ensuing municipal year and that she would be inviting representatives of other faiths to open meetings during the course of the year.

The Mayor indicated she would be supporting the following charities:-

Colchester Sea Cadets Colchester YMCA Colchester and Tendring National Children's Deaf Society Group Colchester Phoenix Swimming Club Stepping Stones Play and Learn Nursery Nurture Dogs

The theme for her Mayoralty would be "One Colchester, Fair for All".

The Mayor announced that the Civic Service would be held on 28 June 2015.

# 69 Adjournment

*RESOLVED* that the meeting be adjourned until 11.45am and be resumed in the Council Chamber.

# 70 Have Your Say! (Council)

Ken Jones attended and addressed the Council pursuant to the provisions of Meetings General Procedure Rule 7(5) to congratulate the Mayor and Deputy Mayor on their election and to welcome them to their roles.

# 71 Appointment of the Leader of the Council

Councillor Feltham moved a motion that Councillor Paul Smith be appointed as Leader of the Council for the ensuing municipal year.

Councillor Bentley moved an amendment to the motion proposing that Councillor Dennis Willetts be appointed as Leader of the Council for the ensuing municipal year.

On being put to the vote the amendment was lost (twenty four voted in favour, twenty eight voted against).

The original motion was then put to the vote and was carried (twenty eight voted for, twenty four voted against).

# 72 Delegations made by the Leader of the Council

*RESOLVED* that the appointment of the Deputy Leader of the Council, the appointment of Cabinet members and the allocation of responsibility for portfolios, as determined by the Leader of the Council and as set out in the Supplementary Information, be noted.

# 73 Appointment of Panels, Committees and Sub-Committees

# RESOLVED that:-

(i) In accordance with the provisions of Section 15 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the number of seats, Group Representation and membership of the Governance Committee, Licensing Committee, Local Plan Committee, Planning Committee, Scrutiny Panel (including the Crime and Disorder Committee) and Trading Board for the ensuing Municipal Year be as set out in the Supplementary Agenda for this meeting.

(ii) In accordance with the provisions of Section 17 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the appointments of Task and Finish Groups shall not be on a Group basis and membership shall be as set out in the Supplementary Agenda for this meeting.

(iii) The membership of the Independent Remuneration Panel be as set out in the Supplementary Agenda for this meeting.

# 74 Amendment to the Constitution

*RESOLVED* that the recommendations set out in the Monitoring Officer's report be approved and adopted.

#### 75 Former Councillors

*RESOLVED* that the Council recorded its grateful thanks to former Councillors Barlow, Hunt, Kimberley, Scott-Boutell and Turrell for the public service rendered by them to this Borough during their period of office as a Councillor and instructs that a transcript of this resolution be furnished to them on parchment under the Common Seal of the Borough as a permanent record of the appreciation of the Council.