## Council

# Wednesday, 15 September 2021

Attendees: Councillor Lyn Barton, Councillor Kevin Bentley, Councillor Tina

Bourne, Councillor Roger Buston, Councillor Nigel Chapman, Councillor Peter Chillingworth, Councillor Helen Chuah, Councillor Mark Cory, Councillor Pam Cox, Councillor Robert Davidson, Councillor Paul Dundas, Councillor Adam Fox, Councillor Mark Goacher, Councillor Martin Goss, Councillor Jeremy Hagon, Councillor Dave Harris, Councillor Chris Hayter, Councillor Pauline Hazell, Councillor Mike Hogg, Councillor John Jowers, Councillor David King, Councillor Darius Laws, Councillor Martin Leatherdale, Councillor Sue Lissimore, Councillor Andrea Luxford Vaughan, Councillor Jackie Maclean, Councillor Sam McCarthy, Councillor Steph Nissen, Councillor Chris Pearson, Councillor Lee Scordis, Councillor Lesley Scott-Boutell, Councillor Martyn Warnes, Councillor Lorcan Whitehead, Councillor Dennis Willetts, Councillor Barbara

Wood, Councillor Julie Young, Councillor Tim Young

Apologies: Councillor Lewis Barber, Councillor Michelle Burrows, Councillor Phil

Coleman, Councillor Nick Cope, Councillor Simon Crow, Councillor Andrew Ellis, Councillor Michael Lilley, Councillor Derek Loveland, Councillor Roger Mannion, Councillor Patricia Moore, Councillor Beverley Oxford, Councillor

Gerard Oxford, Councillor Philip Oxford, Councillor Leigh Tate

### 465 Attendance by Honorary Aldermen

Honorary Aldermen Hall and Russell were also in attendance.

Apologies had been received from Honorary Aldermen Blandon, Fairhead, Gower, Lewis, Spendlove, Spyvee, Stevens and Sykes.

### 466 Prayers

The meeting was opened with prayers from the Mayor's Chaplain, the Reverend Dr Amanda Elmes.

#### 467 Mayoral Tribute

Council stood for a minutes silence in tribute to Honorary Aldermen Richard Wheeler, Ken Cooke, Terry Sutton, Janet Fulford, David Holt and former Councillor John Stevens, who had died since the start of the Covid 19 pandemic.

### 468 Honorary Alderman Badge

The Mayor advised Council that Honorary Aldermen Blandon, Green and Kimberley had been presented with a badge recognising their position as Honorary Aldermen.

#### 469 Honorary Aldermen

RESOLVED (UNANIMOUSLY) that in pursuance of the provisions of section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Council confers the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillors Christopher Arnold, John Elliott and Theresa Higgins in recognition of their loyal and eminent service as a member of the Council and its constituent authority.

Honorary Aldermen Arnold, Elliott and Higgins offered their thanks to Council.