### Council

## Wednesday, 25 May 2022

#### Attendees:

Councillor Tracy Arnold, Councillor Lewis Barber, Councillor Lyn Barton, Councillor Kevin Bentley, Councillor Molly Bloomfield, Councillor Michelle Burrows, Councillor Roger Buston, Councillor Nigel Chapman, Councillor Helen Chuah, Councillor Phil Coleman, Councillor Mark Cory, Councillor Pam Cox, Councillor Robert Davidson, Councillor Andrew Ellis, Councillor Adam Fox, Councillor Mark Goacher, Councillor Jeremy Hagon, Councillor Dave Harris, Councillor Mike Hogg, Councillor John Jowers, Councillor David King, Councillor Richard Kirkby-Taylor, Councillor Jocelyn Law, Councillor Darius Laws, Councillor Martin Leatherdale, Councillor Michael Lilley, Councillor Sue Lissimore, Councillor Andrea Luxford Vaughan, Councillor Jackie Maclean, Councillor Roger Mannion, Councillor Sam McCarthy, Councillor Sam McLean, Councillor Patricia Moore, Councillor Steph Nissen, Councillor Chris Pearson, Councillor Kayleigh Rippingale, Councillor Lee Scordis, Councillor Lesley Scott-Boutell, Councillor Paul Smith, Councillor Rhys Smithson, Councillor Michael Spindler, Councillor William Sunnucks, Councillor Leigh Tate, Councillor Martyn Warnes, Councillor Dennis Willetts, Councillor Julie Young, Councillor Tim Young

#### 519 Prayers

The Reverend Dr Amanda Elmes opened the meeting with prayers.

The Retiring Mayor, Councillor Robert Davidson, chaired the meeting for the items at minutes 519-521.

#### 520 Apologies

Apologies were received from Councillors Barber\*, Goss, Hagon\*, B. Oxford, G, Oxford, Wood and J. Young\*.

<sup>\*</sup> Mayor making ceremony only.

#### 521 Election of the Mayor

It was PROPOSED by Councillor Harris, seconded by Councillor Chapman and supported by Councillors Cory and Nissen and:-

*RESOLVED* that Councillor T. Young be elected as Mayor of the Borough of Colchester for the ensuing municipal year.

Councillor T. Young took the customary oath and signed the declaration of acceptance of office.

Councillor T. Young then took the Chair and returned thanks for his election.

#### 522 Minutes of the Previous Meeting (Council)

RESOLVED that the minutes of the meeting on 23 February 2022 be confirmed as a correct record.

#### 523 Election of the Deputy Mayor

It was PROPOSED by Councillor Moore and seconded and supported by Councillors Cory, Fox and Nissen and:

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY that Councillors Jowers be appointed as Deputy Mayor of the Borough of Colchester for the ensuing municipal year.

Councillor Jowers then signed the declaration of acceptance of office and returned thanks for his election.

#### 524 Vote of Thanks to the Retiring Mayor

It was PROPOSED by Councillor Laws and seconded and supported by Councillors Cory, Fox and Nissen and:

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY that the best thanks of the Council are due and are hereby accorded to Councillor Robert Davidson for the admirable manner in which he has discharged the responsible duties of the Mayoralty during his period of office and that a transcript of this resolution under the Common Seal be furnished to him.

#### 525 Mayor's Chaplain and Other Announcements

The Mayor announced that the theme of his Mayoralty would be Celebrating Diversity, Challenging Prejudice.

The Mayor announced that he would be supporting the following charities:-

- African Families in the UK
- Colchester Arts Centre
- Colchester Korban Project
- Next Chapter
- The Outhouse

The Mayor announced that he had appointed Reverend Sue Howlett as his Chaplain.

#### 526 Adjournment

RESOLVED that the meeting be adjourned until 11.45 am in the Council Chamber.

#### 527 Have Your Say

Sir Bob Russell addressed Council pursuant to the provisions of Council Procedure Rule 5(1) and offered his congratulations to the Mayor on his election. He would be the last Mayor of the Borough of Colchester and the first Mayor of the City of Colchester.

He expressed his opposition to the Cabinet system of Council governance. All 51 Councillors were elected with an equal mandate and should be involved in decision making. It was not right that the largest group on the Council who had polled the most votes on the recent election was now excluded from the Cabinet whilst a group of three members had a seat. Concern was also expressed that not all groups put up candidates in all seats, and some groups had not actively campaigned in certain wards, which was against democratic principles.

Sir Bob also expressed his support for Councillor Mick Spindler who had been subject to a slanderous and unjustified campaign.

The Mayor thanked Sir Bob for his comments.

#### 528 Appointment of the Leader of the Council

RESOLVED that Councillor King be appointed as the Leader of the Council for the remainder of his period of office.

The Retiring Mayor, Councillor Davidson, presented Councillor King with the Leader's Badge of Office.

#### 529 Delegations Made by the Leader of the Council

RESOLVED that the Deputy Leader of the Council, the appointment of Cabinet members and the allocation of responsibility for Portfolios, as determined by the Leader of the Council and as set out in the Supplementary Information, be noted.

#### 530 Appointment of Panels, Committees and Sub-Committees

RESOLVED that:-

(i) in accordance with the provisions of section 15 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 the number of seats, Group representation and membership of the Environment and Sustainability Panel, Governance and Audit Committee, Planning

Committee, Policy Panel and Scrutiny Panel (including the Crime and Disorder Committee) for the ensuing municipal year be as set out in the Supplementary Information for the meeting, subject to the substitution of Councillor Nissen for Councillor Kirkby-Taylor on the Planning Committee.

- (ii) in accordance with the provisions of Section 17 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 the appointments to the Licensing Committee and Local Plan Committee for the ensuing municipal year shall not be on a Group basis and membership shall be as set out in the Supplementary Information for the meeting
- (iii) that the membership of the Independent Remuneration Panel be as set out in the Supplementary Information for the meeting.
- (iv) that the terms of reference of the Tendring Colchester Borders Garden Community Joint Committee be amended to remove the requirement that one of the members appointed by Colchester Borough Council must be the Chairman of the Local Plan Committee. Therefore Colchester Borough Council's membership of the Joint Committee be three members, one of whom must be a member of Cabinet, all to be appointed by the Leader.

# Notification of Urgent Decisions taken under Council Procedure Rule 18 – Adoption of Marks Tey and West Mersea Neighbourhood Plans

Councillor Sunnucks declared a non pecuniary interest in the following item pursuant to the provisions of Council Procedure Rules 9(5) and did not vote on the item.

*RESOLVED* that the decisions taken under the Council Procedure Rule 18 to make the Neighbourhood Plans for Marks Tey and West Mersea be noted.

#### 532 Motion of Thanks

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY that Council records its grateful thanks to former Councillors Bourne, Chillingworth, Cope, Crow, Dundas, Hayter, Hazell, Loveland, P Oxford and Whitehead for the public service rendered by them to the Borough during their period of office as a Councillor and instructs that a transcript of this resolution be furnished to them under the Common Seal of the Borough as a permanent record of the appreciation of the Council.

The Mayor invited newly elected Councillors Arnold, Bloomfield, Kirkby-Taylor, Law, McLean, Rippingale, Smith, Smithson, Spindler and Sunnucks to introduce themselves to Council.