Council

Wednesday, 23 November 2022

Attendees:

Councillor Tracy Arnold, Councillor Kevin Bentley, Councillor Molly Bloomfield, Councillor Michelle Burrows, Councillor Nigel Chapman, Councillor Helen Chuah, Councillor Phil Coleman, Councillor Mark Cory, Councillor Pam Cox, Councillor Robert Davidson, Councillor Andrew Ellis, Councillor Adam Fox, Councillor Mark Goacher, Councillor Jeremy Hagon, Councillor Dave Harris, Councillor Mike Hogg, Councillor John Jowers, Councillor David King, Councillor Jocelyn Law, Councillor Darius Laws, Councillor Jackie Maclean, Councillor Roger Mannion, Councillor Sam McCarthy, Councillor Sam McLean, Councillor Patricia Moore, Councillor Sara Navlor, Councillor Chris Pearson, Councillor Kayleigh Rippingale, Councillor Lee Scordis, Councillor Lesley Scott-Boutell, Councillor Paul Smith, Councillor Rhys Smithson, Councillor Michael Spindler, Councillor William Sunnucks, Councillor Martyn Warnes, Councillor Dennis Willetts, Councillor Barbara Wood, Councillor Julie Young, Councillor Tim Young

560 Apologies

Apologies were received from Councillors Barber, Barton, Buston, Goss, Kirkby-Taylor, Lilley, Lissimore, Luxford-Vaughan, Nissen and Tate.

561 Prayers

The meeting was opened with prayers from the Bishop of Colchester, Roger Morris, and the Reverend Sue Howlett.

562 Presentation of Letters Patent conferring City Status on the Borough of Colchester

His Majesty's Lord Lieutenant for Essex, Jennnifer Tolhurst, presented the Letters Patent formally conferring City Status on the Borough of Colchester, on behalf of the late Queen, Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth the Second, to the Mayor of Colchester, Councillor Tim Young.

The Mayor responded on behalf of Council to thank the Lord Lieutenant and to welcome the conferment of City Status on the Borough of Colchester.

563 Change of Council Name to Colchester City Council

RESOLVED (UNANIMOUSLY) that:

- (a) The name of Colchester Borough Council be changed to Colchester City Council with immediate effect.
- (b) The Monitoring Officer be authorised to make the necessary consequential amendments to the Council's constitution.